August 27, 2010

The Waffle Proposal Story

Posted in The Beginnings tagged , at 4:09 pm by sewknotwrite

Mr. Waffle and I arrived in LA on a Saturday.  He was going to an animation conference all week and I planned to tag along/fabric shop/relax by the pool.

We ran around LA doing conference business and touristy business from the moment we stepped off the plane. It was exhausting!  By Tuesday, I suggested we do something chill and relaxed.

“How about watching the sun set at the Griffith Observatory?”

“That sounds perfect!” he replied.

So, on we drove up into the Hollywood hills for a gorgeous sunset.

We wandered around the observatory before making our way to the rooftop where it was windy and a bit chilly.  We admired the Hollywood sign though the smoggy haze and rejected the long line to look though the giant telescope. The chilliness  and a grumbling, hungry tummy was seriously starting to get to me.  Honestly, I am an easy going gal, but there are 2 things that bring out my grouchy/whiny side (cold and hunger) and they were both upon me.

“Can we go now?” I whined.

“No, not yet.”

“Pllleeeeease.  I’m coooold and huuuungry.”

“Let’s just enjoy the moment.”

“Ugh.  Seriously?”

“But the sun hasn’t set!”  He had a look in his eye that was very pleading.  Why did he care if the sun had set or not?  I was typically the romantic and sentimental type that would urge us to stay, whilst he is the practical one that would get bored with such an event.

Feeling pressure to watch the dumb old sun set, I turned around and let out a small whimper of protest.

He snuggled me close and nuzzled my neck to keep me warm.  I felt him fumbling for something in his pocket, but I figured he was just reaching for his handkerchief (yes, he uses a hanky and he is not 70 years old).

“Oh, all right,” he says.  “We can go, but not until I ask you this?”

I turned around and there he was on one knee with a box full of sparkly presented to me.  I had a slight out of body experience where I believe I uttered the word “seriously?” before I floated back to Earth and said “YES!”

The people on the rooftop cheered.  A small group of girls shared some boxed wine they brought in their backpacks and photos were taken.

Later, Mr. Waffle revealed he had been carrying that ring with him the whole time we were in LA just waiting for the right moment.

5 Comments »

  1. Matthew (Matt) Cotter said,

    So sweet 🙂

  2. Dave Clements said,

    Mike’s a loser.

    Awww, kidding! That’s a pretty sweet story to be honest. You seriously must be THE girl of Mike’s dreams for sure. Because this is not the Mike I know 🙂 But this is a good thing. Awesome times guys!!! xoxox

  3. Too cute! So glad I found your blog!

    • emtheartist said,

      Thanks so much!

  4. sangriasthoughts&lemonwedges said,

    this is great! On my “bucket list” I have “witness a marriage proposal”. Thanks for sharing, happy planning!


Leave a Reply

