September 1, 2010

Colors or Colours

Posted in The Beginnings at 4:49 pm by sewknotwrite

I am continuously amazed at what some men do and do not know when it comes to wedding planning.  I am also intrigued by what they will and will not understand.  Here is a recent example…

On one of our grocery store excursions I saw antique blue hydrangeas.  I think I melted a little bit and cooed, “Awww, I love these.”

Mr. Waffle let out a groan.

“What’s wrong?”

“It looks like Jane Austen.”

I knew he wanted no notion of anything English at the wedding.  A conversation a few days of earlier about whether or not he wanted any traditions, etc from England included was dismissed rather quickly.  This lead me to believe that my new favorite “Jane Austen” flowers would be vetoed as well.

“But I looooove these coloooooors.  They would be perfect.  What colors do you want for the wedding?”

“Colours?”

“Yes, Pumpkin.  What do you think our wedding colors should be?”

“You have to have colours?  What for?  Are you sure?” he said exasperatedly.  Mr. Waffle is always exasperated when I introduce him to new things.  He looks at me in a disbelieving manner as if I have an alien growing out of the top of my head.  This is followed by a look that suggests I am trying to play a trick on him accompanied by an “are you sure?”  The early stages of planning this wedding have been a slew of these reactions (which has actually been fun because it always makes me giggle).

A week later, I decided the Waffs probably needed visual aides.  I stopped by Home Depot to pick up paint chips in the color family I was considering (thank you Martha Stewart Living Complete Paint Palette).  It took me forever, but I was happy with my choices!

Beaming, I proudly presented them to him.

Confusedly, he looked up at me.  “Urm, what do I do with this?”

“These are the colors I chose.”

“Which ones?”

“All of them.  It’s a color family.  A palette.”  I was still holding on to the excitement.  If I was a dog I would have been wagging my tail.

“OK”  He was still puzzled.

“What do you think?”  I could feel the much needed approval of my hour of hard work scrutinizing paint chips fading away.

“They’re colours.”

I began to tuck my tail between my legs and accept the fact that he is a man, and as a man he most likely has absolutely no interest or desire to choose colors.  But how could he not have an opinion about a decision that will affect all other decision making from this point forward?  How?!  For the love, can someone just make him see how IMPORTANT this is!!!

“I like purple.  Purple’s quite nice.”

Success!

5 Comments »

  1. ally said,

    i’m loving your approach – baby steps emily, baby steps!!! i am MORE than familiar with the alien look. 🙂 i think mike was born in an exasperated state and rolling his eyes!

    • emtheartist said,

      i bought him a book called “The Groom’s Instruction Manual.” this seems to be helping A LOT! 🙂

  2. Erin (aka Chicken Little from WB) said,

    Hahaha, this is great! My fiance is very similar when I told him I like the colors “cobalt, cornflower, and amber.” He gave me this look of desperation and said “Those aren’t colors! Those are THINGS!”

  3. Dave Clements said,

    I absolutely understand your desire for a color palette to match nicely. You can’t have the wedding all over the place. It’s gotta look classy and cool.

    That said … black would be best. End. 😀 hehehe

    • Christina said,

      Ha Ha!!! We had a very similar conversation except Lucas just rolled his eyes the whole time so I explained our colors were earth, sea and sky facetiously. He backed down when I jokingly suggested pink and pink as our signature colors. Basically most guys don’t care about color as long as they get cake.


Leave a Reply

