December 9, 2010

Napkins and Runners and Sashes, Oh MY!

Posted in Decor at 3:54 pm by sewknotwrite

If this project fails later on and I cry about it, you have full permission to say, “I told you so.”

Despite the full warnings of other Bees before me, I am making my own table linens.  ‘Cause I’m crazy like that.  I have decided to assign reception tables by fabric.  See all the pretty fabric…

I still need 2-3 more fabrics, but this is a good place to start.

So, I’m sure you’re wondering, “Why Waffle?  WHY???  It’s going to take you FOREVER!  WHY???”

I will answer you this, “I’m going to start early and kinda cheat.”

For starters, I will be using a large, self-healing cutting mat and rotary cutter.  These tools alone slice fabric cutting time in half.

I will then finish the edges of the fabric off with my baby.  My serger.  So, that means no turning hems under, stitching and pressing.  I will run all my napkins and cocktail table sashes through this baby and call it a day.

Are you curious as to what a serger does?  Go ahead and look inside your clothes.  The edges are finished with an overlocked stitch that helps keep the fabric from fraying.  Sergers (also called overlock machines) trim the edges of fabric and encase them.  If the serger is fancy, like mine, then you can choose what you want the edge finishing to look like.  Here are some basic choices…

DSC_0115Source

I am planning to use the two-threaded rolled hem you see on the left for all of my napkins.  I’m still on the fence though as to whether or not I want to properly finish the hems for the table runners.  We’ll see.

Are you planning any big sewing projects for the main event?  Are you going to take any crafty shortcuts like me?

 

Leave a Reply

