January 12, 2011

Beating the Stress with a Shang-bang and a Gig-a-lig-a-pop

Posted in Random at 8:08 am by sewknotwrite

OK, I know that sounds absolutely nuts, but if you were in my Broadway Fit or Broadway Performance Workshop classes it would make complete sense.  One of my instructors uses theses words with certain movement combinations.  You can find him and his partner, two Broadway vets, teaching class where I work every day of the week and their classes are immensely popular.  I know this sounds backwards, but I’m fighting daily stress and wedding stress by signing up to be in one of their performance workshop shows in May.

Yes, you heard me correctly.  1 month before my wedding I will be Fosse-ing, shimmying and belting my heart out on the stage.  Those 2-3 hour classes every Wednesday night do wonders for me.  I get to sing and dance while all of my worries stay packed away at home and the rest of the world melts away.  I also find that doing something which brings me pure joy for one night rejuvenates me for the rest of the week.  The dancing is usually pretty intense, so I’ll be able to work off a little bit of that holiday weight as well.

How are you beating the stress?

2 Comments »

  1. laura said,

    OMG! I want to do this!! You’re in Austin right? Where are these classes?

    • emtheartist said,

      Ballet Austin…they have several times and options available.


Leave a Reply

