March 25, 2011

Thoughts on Ceremony

Posted in ceremony and reception at 10:27 am by sewknotwrite

Life is extremely crazy at the moment.  Most days I feel like a little leaf being swept along by a raging river.  There are very big wedding items I need to tackle, but my brain and body are a bit too exhausted to put an energy towards it at the moment.  Several people involved in the ceremony have started asking me questions about it and I seriously have had nothing to share with them.  No ideas.  Nothing.  Until this morning.

Luckily, I don’t have to go into work until this afternoon today.  I finally had a moment to sleep in and snuggle with Mr Waffle (who just got back from 3 months in LA).  The moment was so perfect.  The morning sunlight was seeping in, diffused by the curtains and everything was still.  I could hear the silent whisper of the AC and Waffle’s breathing.  So still and so peaceful.  I looked up at him in that perfect moment and he didn’t even have to say anything.  The smile in his eyes said “I love you” and I laid my head back down for a few more moments of peaceful sweetness.

I wanted to bottle that moment up and keep it with me forever.  I wanted to be able to carry it with me and remember when I’m in the midst of feeling seriously overwhelmed.  Then, I began to think of other moments I wanted to keep in that bottle.  All the things between the two of us that made me feel warmth and love.  I realized I wanted to actually write them down and put them in a jar and this lead me to wanting to add this to our wedding ceremony.

We are already having memory jars scattered through our venue and my thought was to do our own take on the wine and box ceremony.  If you are not familiar with this ceremony, you can see an example at the wedding of Mrs. Hot Wings.  My thought was that we each will bring some of these warm and loving memories to the ceremony with us on small pieces of paper and fill the jar with them.  The jar will then serve as a reminder of our love for each other and be an encouragement in times of trial.

Are you having any thoughts about what you would like to include in your ceremony?

Leave a Reply

