May 23, 2011

Waffle Craft Tutorial: Cake Table Sign

Posted in Decor, Random at 6:46 pm by sewknotwrite

I know I promised a tutorial for the Brunchy Invites, and I’m almost through with that post, but I’m gonna do one for this first because I have all the pictures resized and blah, blah, blah already.  Seriously, I promise invites will be next.  Pinky swear.

Items you may need for this project:

  • Blank sign
  • Wood monogram letter
  • Graphite paper or pencil
  • Blue painter tape or masking tape
  • Thick wired ribbon
  • Fake flowers
  • Nails and hammer or screws and drill
  • Acrylic craft paint
  • Brushes
  • Fine point Sharpie
  • Hot glue and gun
  • Scissors
  • Patience

First up, I found a blank stand sign and monogram letter at Michael’s and painted them the desired colors with acrylic craft paint.  Once that was dry, I got out a sheet of graphite paper (also available at craft and art stores) and taped it to the blank sign with blue painter tape.  If you don’t have/can’t find graphite paper, you can also color the back of your text print out with a pencil and transfer that way.

I then printed out the text I wanted on the sign (I used the same fonts we used on our invitations) and positioned it on top of the graphite paper.  Once it was in a place I liked, I also taped it down.

I traced over all the letters with a pencil and carefully peeled off the paper and graphite transfer to reveal the text underneath.

If there are any smudges or imperfections left from the transfer paper, you can always spot paint over them later.  Goodness knows I did!

With a fine tipped brush, I painted a few coats of the lettering on.  The smaller text was actually done with a grey, fine point Sharpie.

After everything was dry, I wrapped the monogram “C” with the thick, wired ribbon as I wanted and taped it down with the painter tape.  Mr Waffle then pitched in to screw the letter onto the sign.  Please excuse his grouchy face.  Apparently, he doesn’t like being photographed while crafting.

Then, get out your glue guns ladies, because it’s time to hot glue flowers and ribbon.  Be careful not to burn yourself.  I totally burned myself big time and cried like a freakin’ baby.  Truthfully, I do this almost every time I use a glue gun and it is the reason I rarely use a glue gun when crafting.

FYI…I used my blue tape to tape down the flowers before I glued them on just to make sure I liked the layout.

After that, you are finished and can take loads of pictures and show them to your friends so that they can see what awesome, crafty divas you are…because you, Hive, are full of boatloads of talent!

Yay!

3 Comments »

  1. […] Blank sign; Wood monogram letter; Graphite paper or pencil; Blue painter tape or masking tape; Thick wired ribbon; Fake flowers; Nails and hammer or screws and drill; Acrylic craft paint; Brushes; Fine point Sharpie; Hot glue and gun … View full post on glue gun crafts – Google Blog Search […]

  2. Miss Susan said,

    I am exhausted just viewing your work. Em, did you Mother tell you that I will not be able to make the wedding? I am one of those who have yet to post their RSVP note. I ordered your present today. Enjoy! Miss Susan

    • emtheartist said,

      Thank you! Hugs!


Leave a Reply

