September 21, 2011

Waffley Wedded Wife: The Rain

Posted in Random at 9:03 am by sewknotwrite

At one point, while I was getting my hair and make-up done, I heard rumbling and hushed conversations about rain and knew that Team Waffle had moved everything from the ceremony site to the tent.  There was a brief sprinkling and the sun went back to shining, so the team moved everything back outside.  It looked something like this.

This was right about the point I had gone outside to take pictures.  Sunny and beautiful.  Unbeknownst to me, 15 minutes after I had come back inside a downpour began.  You see, all the drapes and blinds on my side of the house were closed so I had no idea that our gorgeous secret garden now looked like this…

There was a bit of a buzz and commotion in the house now.  I heard some swearing coming from the hallway followed by a whispered, “Don’t say anything.”

I piped up, “What?!  Is everything OK?”

Magic Alie poked her head around the corner, “It’s fine.  Everything’s fine.  We’ll just be running a little bit behind.”

I shrugged my shoulders and went back to chatting and sipping champagne.  Having worked at several weddings myself, I knew there was a tendency for things to run late so I thought nothing of it.  Silly Waffle.

Meanwhile, the Hummingbird House crew and my wedding crew were hauling everything back into the tent and rolling down the plastic sheeting on the sides.

photo by Steve Twigger

The time for walking down the aisle was closing in and I was confused by the sound of guests in the house.  Why are they in the house?  What’s going on?

Then, I heard the thunder.

I peered through the blinds of my ready room to see sheets of rain and guests scurrying under umbrellas, shawls and jackets.  We had not had rain like this in a loooong time and now!  NOW it rains!  It was round about that moment when Magic Alie popped in to explain the situation.  We were going to postpone for 30 minutes to see if it blew over and I was going to have to get married in the tent.

There was no use crying or getting overly upset because there was nothing I could do about it.  Nature’s going to do what nature’s going to do.  So, I grabbed some more champagne and just had to sit and wait.

*All photos by Nadine Studio unless otherwise noted.

Leave a Reply

