October 3, 2011

Waffley Wedded Wife: Vows and Acknowledgements

Posted in ceremony and reception at 12:35 pm by sewknotwrite

photo by Steve Twigger

To continue with the theme of the memory jars, we had decided that we would seal our vows in a jar after saying them to each other.  Captain Toes presented the jar to those assembled and explained its purpose.

Mr Waffle was first.  I held the jar and listened to his words…

photo by Perrie Belle

“From our first date, you welcomed me into your wonderful family of friends.  You filled my heart with good feelings, my mind with good thoughts and my belly with good food.

You’re so kind, enthusiastic, beautiful and loving.  I feel like I’m a kid sneaking a peek at something forbidden…then I’m reminded that you’re with me  and I’m filled with joy.  I privately freak out, when you’re not looking.

You and I are two crazy creative people.  On our own, and unchecked, we’re very good at making life difficult for ourselves, but you constantly remind me what it takes to make a balanced, complete and worthwhile life.  Living with you has been a life changing experience that’s adjusted my priorities and set me on a path to being a better man…a much happier man.

You bring out the best in me and I promise to do my best to help you be the best you can be, to stand by you when times are tough, to love you and, hopefully, inspire you until we’re both old and grey.

I love you, Emily, and I plan to share beer and snuggles with you for the rest of my days.”

photo by Nadine Studio

The crowd had a lovely mixture of laughter and misty eyes as Mr Waffle finished his vows, folded them and placed them in the jar.  I passed it to him and read mine.

“Last night, as you left the house, the last thing you said was, ‘Don’t forget to turn on the AC, it’s hot in here.’

photo by Nadine Studio

Now, most brides to be may have been a little put of by this…wanting the last words they hear from their fiance to be more along the lines of ‘I love you and can’t wait to marry you tomorrow.’  Instead, I chuckled and my heart was warmed because it was a classic Mike thing to say and that one little phrase was really saying, ‘I love you, I care about you and I want the best for you.’

I ran to my desk and knew I had to change these vows.  I written vows that were flowery and poetic.  I realized something.  I am not writing these vows for the people who are gathered here to embrace us and support us.  I am writing these vows for you…and flowery and poetic are not your style.

You want genuine, honest, to the point and short so…and I quote…’this ceremony won’t drag on forever.’

Michael, thank you for always taking care of me.  All the things you do for me, even the things that drive me completely bananas, I know you are doing because it’s what is best for me, and what is best for us as a couple and, one day, as a family.  Thank you for always challenging me to do more and be more.

I promise to love you honestly and unconditionally.  I promise to take care of you as well as you do for me.  I promise to strive to do all the silly things we came up with when brainstorming vows late at night before bed…like picking up my shoes, keeping the houseplants alive and cleaning the bathtub more often so you can have a bubble bath at the end of a long day.  I promise you a lifetime of snuggles and to be the dreamgirl you fell in love with.  I promise you these things and more because you are my everything…you are my always.”

photo by Nadine Studio

I folded my vows and placed them with his.  Captain Toes asked us both is we promised to honor the words spoken that day, and with a confident “we do” we sealed the jar of vows together.

photo by Nadine Studio

It was then time for the guests to affirm and support our marriage by signing pieces of paper and putting them in our jar of acknowledgments.  The bridal party helped to pass the jar among the guests as Ms Dressage read the poem “i carry your heart with me” by e.e. cummings.

photo by Nadine Studio

i carry your heart with me(i carry it in
my heart)i am never without it(anywhere
i go you go,my dear; and whatever is done
by only me is your doing,my darling)
i fear
no fate(for you are my fate,my sweet)i want
no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)
and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant
and whatever a sun will always sing is you

photo by Nadine Studio

here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud
and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows
higher than the soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart) 

photo by Nadine Studio

As the jar was passed and filled to the point of overflowing with the names of loved ones, I had trouble holding back the tears.  How special it is to be so loved and supported by such a large number of talented, unique and beautiful people.  Mr Waffle and I are truly blessed.

photo by Perrie Belle

Captain sealed the jar and held it up for all to see.

We were now ready to exchange rings and wrap up our ceremony.

Leave a Reply

