May 8, 2012

Bridal Memories

Posted in DIY, Paper at 10:56 am by sewknotwrite

Well, hello there Hive!  Haven’t seen you lovelies in quite  a while!

Mr Waffle and I are quickly creeping up on our one year wedding anniversary (ahhhhhhh!) and I am only just now getting some post wedding projects done.  You know…photo albums, putting pictures in frames and deciding what to do with my dried out bouquet that’s living on our bookshelf.  I’m feeling some extra bit of pressure to get these things done because we’ll be moving to New York at the end of the month.  We’ll be celebrating our first anniversary with a road trip from the Lone Star State to the Big Apple!

I’ve decided to pop back in here for a second to share with you one post wedding project I did complete recently that I absolutely love….

This shadow box frame was purchased about a year ago specifically for housing some bridal memories and a photo.  I knew its purpose for a long time, but I wasn’t sure what was going in it until I received the illustration.

We had a portrait done by the talented Jennifer Hancock of The Illustrated Bride.  She is a fashion illustrator and designer who now does custom pieces for brides and they are gorgeous with superb attention to every detail!  I LOVE fashion and costume renderings and the designer in me just couldn’t resist having her do a piece for us.

It arrived in such lovely packaging!

Don’t we look sharp!  I know it’s hard to tell from this photo, but every single detail has been captured.  She even put in the teeny tiny rhinestones that are nestled in the corners of my glasses and replicated the pattern on his tie!

The shadow box was the perfect venue for our illustrated selves and a few small, treasured pieces from the wedding day like one of our bells, buttons, our name and Mr. Waffle’s boutonniere.

I love how this project came together!

How are you preserving some of your bridal memories?  Would you ever get a wedding portrait or illustration?

Leave a Reply

